Drunk Driving during the Holiday Season in New Jersey

The holidays are bright, festive and fun but this time of year is also known for being the deadliest season for drunk driving. However, because police are hyper-aware of drunk drivers on the road, they can sometimes be overzealous in charging or arresting people for driving while intoxicated (DWI). If you’ve been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, you should not delay in reaching out to a seasoned New Jersey DWI attorney who examine the circumstances of your arrest and protect your rights.

Accidents in the Holiday Season

It is undoubtedly true that many lives are lost to drunk driving every year during the holiday season. According to the US Department of Transportation, between 2011 and 2016, an average of 300 people died in drunk driving accidents the week between Christmas and New Year. Alcohol-impaired accidents make up more than a quarter of all crash deaths. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 885 people died in traffic crashed involving a drunk driver during the month of December in 2017.

DWIs in New Jersey

Under New Jersey law, individuals can face charges of drunk driving if they are found to have a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or over. Individuals can face particularly serious penalties if they are found to have a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher. It is important to note that a person in New Jersey may be charged with a DWI if their ability to drive in safe manner is compromised due to the use of drugs – legal, prescription or illegal.

Defending a DWI Charge in New Jersey

If a person is convicted for a DWI, he or she may face a variety of penalties such as license suspension (loss of driving privileges), fines, mandatory alcohol education courses and even jail time. These consequences can seriously impact your life but you may be able to fight your charges with many possible defenses. Typical defenses include, but are not limited to:

  • No reasonable suspicion to stop vehicle;
  • No reasonable suspicion to conduct for sobriety testing;
  • Failure to comply with the “20 minute” rule;
  • Problem with administration of breathalyzer test;
  • Alcotest machine not working properly; and/or
  • Failure to give Miranda warnings.

It is impossible to know which of these defenses will be best for your case until we thoroughly understand the circumstances of your arrest and the nature of the charges against you.

Diligent New Jersey DWI Attorneys

Being arrested for drunk driving or drugged driving can be an extremely stressful and often traumatic experience. If you or someone close to you has been arrested for drunk driving in New Jersey, you need to reach out to a seasoned New Jersey DWI attorney who understands this area of law. You can rest assured that we want to hear your story and help in any way that we can. We are here to answer your questions and address your concerns every step of the way. Get more information about your case by calling us today at 877-450.8301 or contacting us online

More Blog Posts:

More than 20,000 NJ DWI Convictions Could be Tossed Out

Bar Serving Alcohol Settles Case After Fatal New Jersey DWI Crash