Man Who Hit and Struck Atlantic Highlands Couple Charged with DWI

If you or a loved has been charged with reckless driving or driving while intoxicated (DWI) in New Jersey, you need to reach an experienced New Jersey DWI attorney who can help. Charges of reckless driving, especially when coupled with other charges, are extremely serious and can be very difficult to navigate. With wide-ranging experience in this area of law, we know how to protect your rights, including having many strategies that we can employ to help minimize the consequences of your arrest.

A man who struck and killed a couple trying to cross a street in Monmouth County last week has been charged with a DWI and reckless driving. The victims, a 60-year-old man and his 59-year-old wife were attempting to cross the street from the north side of the intersection when they were struck by the driver’s Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, which was traveling eastbound on the highway. The tragic accident took place around 7:50 p.m. and both victims died from their injuries. The driver was uninjured and remained at the scene. Their community loved the couple and an upcoming memorial service has been planned. They were soon to be grandparents as one of their adult children had a baby on the way. 

Reckless Driving Charges in New Jersey

Reckless driving can be a criminal offense in New Jersey. Reckless driving is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-96 and provides, in part, “a person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property, shall be guilty or reckless driving.”

A reckless driving conviction can result in serious and long-term consequences. Some of the penalties that a person who is convicted of reckless driving may face include 5 points on their driver’s license, imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for a period of not more than 60 days, and/or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $200.00, or both.

Vehicular Homicide Charges

When a motorist drives recklessly and someone is killed, vehicular homicide charges may follow. Under New Jersey law, an individual can be convicted of “vehicular homicide” for causing the death of a person by operating a vehicle or boat recklessly. The prosecutor can establish ‘recklessness’ in a variety of circumstances including a situation in which the driver was under the influence of alcohol or drugs at the time of the crash.

Seasoned New Jersey DWI Defense Attorney

If you have been arrested or charged with reckless driving, it is imperative to contact a seasoned New Jersey DWI attorney who can help resolve the case in your favor. DWI penalties are very serious and should not be taken lightly. You should remember though that just because you have been charged does not mean you are automatically guilty. There are a number of defenses that may be available in your case and you can rest assured we will pursue any and all that may apply. You can rest assured that we are committed to aggressively defending your rights every step of the way. For a free case evaluation, please call us at 877-450.8301 or reach out to us online.

More Blog Posts:

Most New Jersey Police Officers are not trained to Identify Drug Impairment, Article Says

Ex-Pro Wrestler Charged with Sixth DWI in New Jersey