New Jersey Police Officer Charged with DWI after Hit and Run Crash

New Jersey takes a tough stance against anyone convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI). If you were apprehended for a DWI, our accomplished New Jersey drunk driving lawyers are here to protect your rights. We will conduct a thorough investigation into the criminal allegations against you and devise an aggressive defense strategy accordingly. We know how to identify any procedural errors or constitutional violations that may have taken place in your situation.

Under state law, you could face DWI charges for getting behind the wheel with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. The legal limit is lower for minors and commercial drivers. You should also know that driving while impaired by any kind of drugs can also lead to a DWI charge.

A New Jersey police sergeant was charged with a DWI last month after he crashed into a motorcyclist in upstate New York and then fled the scene. New York State Police said they responded to a call just after 9pm and found the 49-year-old Canadian motorcyclist lying in a ditch with a broken leg. While the New Jersey police officer drove away, the front license plate of his Mercedes-Benz had fallen off where the crash had occurred. State troopers located the cop a few miles down the road, sitting in his car, which had significant damage and had broken down. According to the New York troopers, the New Jersey officer was visibly drunk and refused a breathalyzer test. He was charged with assault by auto, leaving the scene of an accident with an injury, and drunk driving.

Even though the aforementioned case happened in upstate New York, drunk drivers fleeing scenes of accidents are also an unfortunate reality in New Jersey. Hit and run is a serious offense even when alcohol or drugs are not involved, as every driver is required to stop after an accident. If alcohol is involved, however, the matter becomes much more serious. In addition, the seriousness of a hit and run depends on the seriousness of an accident. If someone has suffered bodily injuries or been killed in the wreck, then charges and penalties are much more severe, and a criminal charge is a certainty. In fact, this would instantly change a DWI case to serious felony charges. Put another way, in addition to being charged with a DWI, other charges can also be levied against the fleeing driver including reckless driving, failing to stop or render aid, aggravated assault by auto and even vehicular manslaughter.

Drunk driving charges, whether it is your first, second or third offense, have the potential to ruin your life. If you have been charged with drunk driving, you must contact a trusted and reliable New Jersey DWI attorney immediately. We will meticulously examine the circumstances of your arrest and advise you of your legal rights and options. Our goal is to put your best defenses forward in an effort to avoid a conviction, or at least have the penalties reduced. To speak to a member of our team about your case, call us today at 877-450-8301 or contact us online.