New Jersey Woman Sentenced to Six Years for Drunk Driving Wreck That Killed a Man

car accidentIf you have been charged with death by auto or vehicular homicide, you probably understand the gravity of the situation. Understanding the charges you are facing is critical to deciding how to move forward. Our hard-working New Jersey DWI attorneys understand how to protect your rights when you are charged with such a serious crime. We are here to answer your questions and address your concerns every step of the way.

A New Jersey woman was recently sentenced to six years in state prison for a drunk driving accident that killed a 49-year-old man. The woman pled guilty to one count of second degree vehicular homicide and driving while intoxicated for hitting the victim, W.O., with her car and ultimately being the cause of his death. According to law enforcement, the woman was driving her Jeep Wrangler when she struck the victim, who worked for a private recycling company when the wreck took place. W.O. was rushed to the hospital where he was pronounced dead due to severe injuries sustained in the accident.

Second-Degree Vehicular Homicide in New Jersey

In New Jersey, an individual can be convicted of vehicular homicide for causing the death of another person by operating a vehicle recklessly. Reckless driving means that you drove with a conscious disregard for human life with a significant risk to the public. If the prosecution establishes certain circumstances under which the accident took place, the jury can infer that a defendant drove recklessly. One of these circumstances is if the driver got behind the wheel under the influence of alcohol or drugs then the jury can infer that he or she drove recklessly. In New Jersey, a person is driving while intoxicated (DWI) when he or she operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher.

Under N.J.S.A 39:4-50, vehicular homicide is a crime of the second degree if the defendant was operating the motor vehicle under the influence or if the defendant was operating the motor vehicle while his or her driver’s license was suspended or revoked due to violation of N.J.S.A 39:4-50.

Penalties for Second-Degree Vehicular Homicide in New Jersey

In New Jersey, penalties for second-degree vehicular homicide carry a sentence of between 5 and 10 years in prison. In addition, when the driver has violated a state DWI or DUI law, the minimum term imposed is required to be between one third and one half of the sentence or three years, whichever is longer. Of course, substantial fines, loss of driving privileges and other penalties are also possible with a conviction for the crime.

 Hiring a Skilled New Jersey DWI Attorney

If you have been charged with assault by auto or vehicular homicide while driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you need a reputable New Jersey DWI lawyer on your side. These charges are extremely serious and the penalties can impact every aspect of your life. You can rest assured that we will vigorously advocate for your rights to help you obtain the best possible result in your care. We have the skill, experience and resources to represent you. Let our attorneys guide you through the process by calling us at 877-450.8301 or contacting us online

More Blog Posts:

Proposed NJ Law would Mandate Ignition Interlock for All Drunk Drivers

Drunk New Jersey Woman Crashes into Carwash

Photo Credit: DedMityay / Shutterstock.com