Drunk driving or driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious criminal offense with the potential for severe penalties in New Jersey. If you have been charged with a DWI, you need to reach out to a seasoned New Jersey DWI attorney who can help protect your rights. With extensive experience, we understand the nuances of this area of law and can apply our knowledge to your case.
Brownsville, Texas topped the list of cities with America’s safest drivers, according to the 14th annual Allstate America’s Best Drivers Report. The report ranks the 200 largest cities in the U.S. based on collision frequency. The average driver in the U.S. will experience a collision approximately once every 10 years according to Allstate claims data. The 2018 data shows that New Jersey has 3 of the top 200 safest driving cities in the country, although the number of years between claims for each of these cities fell below the national 10-year average. Jersey city ranked 114 on the list with an average of 8 years between accident claims; Paterson ranked 148 on the list with an average of 7.3 years between accident claims; and Newark ranked 173 with an average of 6.7 years between accident claims.
Car accidents can happen for a variety of reasons, including drunk driving. Just because you have been charged with a DWI does not mean you will automatically be convicted. In some cases, you may be charged with drunk driving when you were not actually guilty of the offense. Perhaps there was a different explanation for your driving or behavior (i.e., fatigue). In other cases, your DWI charge may have originated from improper police conduct (i.e., an illegal stop). We will analyze the facts of your case and determine any and all defenses that are relevant and applicable.
In New Jersey, drivers found to be impaired will be charged with DWI under the following circumstances:
- Under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.02 percent;
- 21 or over with a BAC of 0.08 percent; or
- Drivers operating a commercial motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.04 percent.
It is important to note that driving under the influence of drugs is also a crime in New Jersey. This is true for illegal drugs, prescription drugs, over-the-counter drugs and essentially any drug that impairs your ability to drive safely.
Depending on the specific charge against you, a conviction may result in the following: fines, fees and surcharges up to $1,000 per year; license suspension or loss; ignition interlock device; jail time and community service. We will examine every aspect of your case to make sure we can provide you with the most effective defense.
A DWI conviction in New Jersey is an extremely serious matter. If you or someone you love has been charged with a DWI, you need a dedicated New Jersey DWI attorney on your side. Whether it is your first DWI, second DWI or subsequent offense, we will vigorously advocate for your rights every step of the way. We are dedicated to providing an honest assessment of your claim so you can figure out your next steps. To speak to us in more detail, call us 877-450.8301 or contact us online.
More Blog Posts:
Photo Credit: J Dennis / Shutterstock.com