New Jersey Motorists Convicted of Drunken Driving or Drug DUI Can Face Severe DWI Penalties

Being stopped by a New Jersey state trooper or local municipal patrolman can be a nerve-jangling experience especially when a driver has perhaps imbibed some alcohol as part of a holiday celebration. Whether its beer or wine consumed at a local restaurant or hard liquor or cocktails shared at a neighborhood pub or bar, driving after drinking even a little alcohol can put a driver’s future in jeopardy.

Drunken driving, driving while intoxicated or operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or prescription drugs; whatever the phrase, a DWI or DUI conviction here in the Garden State can bring heavy penalties and fines, not to mention possible jail time. As a New Jersey drunk driving defense attorney, I and my colleagues provide council and representation to residents in Bergen, Ocean, Passaic and many other counties throughout the state.

Simply put, a drunk driving arrest begins a process that can be both embarrassing and costly to any driver unlucky enough to have been stopped for impaired driving. Even under the best situation, the business and social price of a DWI or DUI arrest and conviction can be devastating to a person.

Financially-speaking, fines and penalties for a first-time drunken driving conviction as well as future increases in auto insurance premiums can be costly, especially in these economically tough times. For those convicted of a subsequent DWI the cost rises as well. Here are just a few examples of the potential monetary impact that a drunk driving conviction in New Jersey can hit a motorist. As with any drunken driving case, jail time or community service may also be ordered by the court against a person who is found guilty of DWI or DUI.

First DWI Offense
$250-$400 fine if blood-alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher but less than 0.10 percent ($300-$500 fine if BAC is 0.10 percent or higher)

Second DWI Offense
$500-$1,000 fine
3rd DWI Offense
$1,000 fine
Various additional fines and costs
DWI Enforcement Fund — $200 Violent Crime Compensation Board Fund — $50 Safe Neighborhood Fund — $75 New Jersey MVC Restoration Charge — $200 Fees for out-patient counseling as referred by the IDRC — $150 Court costs — Up to $33