AAA Study Finds Drowsy Driving is as Dangerous as Drunk Driving

drinkingA DWI conviction can be an ugly stain on your record that can negatively impact many aspects of your life. If you have been charged with a DWI, you need to contact a skilled New Jersey DWI attorney who can help. We will examine the facts of your case and make every effort to protect your rights. You can rest assured that our team has the credentials and knowledge base to defend you against DWI charges.

Drivers who fall asleep behind the wheel are causing more crashes and are as dangerous as drunk drivers, according to a new AAA study. The study tracked more than 3,500 people for several months. The foundation used on-board cameras in vehicles of volunteers to watch their actions as they went about their daily driving routines. What they found was an accident rate by drowsy drivers eight times greater than previously thought.

About 10 percent of crashes a year are due a to drowsy driver, compared to the one to two percent that federal agencies blame on sleepy drivers, the study said. The study is significant because it is the most in-depth study ever conducted on U.S. drivers.

Drowsiness, like intoxication, significantly slows down a person’s reflexes and response times increasing the risk of accident on the road. In New Jersey, the basic offense of a DWI consists of driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent of higher. If you are under the age of 21, the state only needs to show that your BAC was above 0.01 percent in order to convict you of an “underage DWI.”

Just because you have been charged with a DWI does not mean you are guilty. In every DWI case, the burden of proof is on the state to prove that you were driving while intoxicated “beyond a reasonable doubt,” the highest evidentiary standard in the entire legal system. However, New Jersey law states that a 0.08 percent blood alcohol content (BAC) level alone is sufficient for a DWI conviction. Therefore, if your BAC was 0.08 or higher then your defense may center on the reliability and validity of the reading. For instance, you may claim that the breathalyzer was not working properly and, thus, the BAC reading was inaccurate. This is just one example of a defense that may be applicable in your case, there many be many more. We will review your case and figure out any and all defenses that may be able to help you.

A DWI charge can have wide-ranging consequences for your life, including your personal and professional reputation. If you have been charged with a first-offense DWI, you need the help of a trusted New Jersey DWI attorney. Of course, we can also help if you are facing your second or subsequent DWI charge. Choosing the right attorney to represent you in your drunk driving case can be difficult, but it is an extremely important decision. With years of experience, we understand how to successfully build a defense in your case. To discuss your legal rights and options, please feel free to call us at 877-450.8301 or reach out to us online.

More Blog Posts:

Would Lowering DWI Level From .08 to .05 Decrease Drunk Driving in New Jersey?

Motions You Can Use to Fight a DWI Charge in New Jersey