If you have been charged with drunk driving, you may be facing strict and debilitating penalties. Our New Jersey DWI lawyers understand the state’s criminal defense laws and we know first hand that experience counts. Having handled and resolved countless DWI cases, we know how to provide clients with a full legal defense in an effort to mitigate adverse consequences.. Acting quickly after being charged is imperative in these cases, so please do not wait to call our office.
Despite countless awareness campaigns surrounding the dangers of drunk driving, it continues to be a major problem. A new study published by the American Addiction Centers revealed some alarming trends about drinking and driving habits in the US. The report surveyed 600 Americans. When examining the number of times individuals had driven after drinking in the preceding 30 days, the survey found that 23.2 percent of people admitted to driving after drinking at least 1-2 times and 21.7 percent of respondents admitted to drinking and driving over 6 times. Shockingly, 36 percent admitted to driving while blackout drunk while almost 50 percent admitted to being passengers of a drunk driver. In addition, 53.5 percent of survey respondents said they feel capable of driving after drinking as opposed to 46.5 percent who said they do not.
Just because drunk driving is a major problem in the country does not mean everyone charged with the offense is guilty. New Jersey law makes it a criminal offense to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher if you are 21 years of age or older. The legal limit is lower for individuals under 21 as well as for commercial drivers. If you have been charged with a DWI, one of the following defenses may be applicable in your case: