While many drunk driving accidents involve other vehicles, a number of these accidents are single-vehicle crashes. If you or someone close to you has been arrested for a DWI after a single-vehicle accident, you need to contact a seasoned New Jersey DWI defense attorney who knows how to get results. DWI laws are tough, and the penalties for a conviction are severe. With many years of experience, you can trust that we understand how to protect your rights.
In New Jersey, the basic offense of a DWI consists of driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher. If you are under the age of 21, you can be prosecuted for driving while intoxicated (DWI) if you have a BAC of 0.01 percent or higher. Drivers over the appropriate limit will be considered to be driving while intoxicated.
A single-vehicle accident is a type of motor vehicle accident in which only one vehicle is involved. The unfortunate reality is that single-car accidents are more common than you may think. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety reports that approximately 55 percent of motor vehicle deaths in 2016 took place in single-vehicle accidents. It is important to note that in New Jersey, an individual can be charged for a DWI in a single-vehicle crash.
Earlier this month, a 24-year-old Hopatcong woman was charged with driving while intoxicated after her car turned on its side and caught fire. The PT cruiser was discovered shortly before 7 a.m. It was on fire with the driver still inside, according to police. Once the fire was put out, officers on the scene realized the driver was unconscious and detected the smell of alcohol emanating from the vehicle. Once the driver regained consciousness, she told the police she had fallen asleep. She made statements admitting that she had consumed alcohol the night before and was on her way home at the time of the crash. She was charged with DWI, careless driving, and failure to maintain lane as a result of the accident.
People often do not realize their options after being charged with a DWI. Police officers are required to follow certain legal procedures when they arrest and charge someone for a DWI. There are many challenges that can be made to your stop, arrest, and breath, blood, or urine testing. We can assess your case and compel the state to provide the information we think would be beneficial to your case.
DWI charges should never be taken lightly. If you were arrested for drunk driving, you need aggressive legal representation. A DWI conviction can have strict penalties and far-reaching consequences for your life. Our skilled New Jersey DWI defense lawyers understand that not only is the outcome important in your case, but also the process should not be overly stressful either. You can rest assured that we will work hard to answer your questions and help protect your rights along the way. For a free case review, call us at 877-450-8301 or contact us online.
More Blog Posts: