Ex-Pro Wrestler Charged with Sixth DWI in New Jersey

You probably already know that being convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in New Jersey can seriously derail almost every aspect of your life. If you or someone you love is facing DWI charges, you should immediately contact a trusted and experienced New Jersey DWI attorney. With years of experience, we understand how to fight these charges and minimize the chances of a conviction. We also understand this is an extremely stressful time for you, which is why we are committed to handling this matter with the utmost sensitivity and urgency.

An ex-pro wrestler by the name of “Sunny” was recently hit with her sixth drunk driving charge. Officers say 46-year-old Tamara Sytch, who is in the World Wrestling Hall of Fame, had stopped her vehicle in Seaside Heights on Saturday evening after she drove in the wrong direction on a one-way street. She was charged with a DWI and police soon discovered that she also had a suspended driver’s license and two other active warrants. Sytch was released from jail in October after serving eight months for multiple DWI offenses.

 DWIs in New Jersey

The per se blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in New Jersey is 0.08 percent. For commercial and underage drivers, the BAC threshold is lower. Even as a first offense, the penalties for DWIs are very serious especially if the BAC is 0.10 percent or higher. This is because New Jersey law makes a distinction between a first time DWI that is based on a BAC of between 0.08 percent to 0.10 percent and a DWI based on a BAC of 0.10 percent or higher. The latter carries much higher fines and a longer period of license suspension.

The Consequences of Multiple DWIs

For second and subsequent DWIs in New Jersey, the law does not make any such distinction. As such, if you are convicted of a second DWI, your driver’s license is automatically suspended for two years and you are subject to hefty fines ranging from $500 to $1,000, jail time between 2 and 90 days as well as 180 hours of community service.

As you can imagine, penalties for a third DWI are even higher than the first or the second. Defendants will face a fine of $10,000, loss of license for ten years, 180 days in jail (90 days of which can be in a drug or alcohol inpatient rehabilitation program), requirement of an ignition interlock device or ten-year suspension of registration privileges and $3,000 in insurance surcharge. Of course, the aforementioned list of penalties are not exhaustive and the consequences can be much more severe, which is why it is imperative to have a knowledgeable attorney on your side.

Contact an Experienced New Jersey DWI Attorney Today

New Jersey does not take multiple DWI offenses lightly and neither should you. Whether you are facing your first, second or third DWI in New Jersey, we can help. Our seasoned New Jersey DWI attorneys understand how to build the strongest possible defense in your case. With years of experience, you can rest assured that we are the right pick for your DWI related matters. Call us for a free, no obligation consult at 877-450.8301 or contact us online today.

 More Blog Posts:
How an Out-of-State DWI Conviction Affect’s Your New Jersey Driver’s License

Former Melrose Place Star Sentenced to 5 Years in Prison for Deadly DWI Crash in New Jersey