If you or someone close to you has been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), you need a seasoned New Jersey DWI defense lawyer on your side. These charges can have serious consequences for your life, so it is important to act quickly after your arrest. For many years, our firm has been committed to providing vigorous legal representation, and you can rest assured that we will help protect your rights at every step of the way. We are here to answer your questions and address your concerns.
New York Assemblyman Feliz Ortiz re-introduced a bill that, if passed, would decrease the state’s legal blood alcohol content (BAC) from .08 percent to .05 percent. Part of the reasoning for the bill comes from a recent study released earlier this year by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine that calls for lowering the BAC threshold because the committee behind the report found that an individual’s ability to operate a motor vehicle starts to deteriorate at low levels of BAC, increasing a person’s risk of being in a crash. In addition, the study found that in countries in which the blood alcohol content levels were decreased to .05 percent, such as Austria, Denmark, and Japan, the laws produced an effective result.
Currently, in all 50 states, drivers age 21 and older are prohibited from driving with a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher. New Jersey is no exception. In New Jersey, driving while intoxicated (DWI) consists of driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher for regular drivers, 0.05 percent for commercial drivers, and 0.01 percent for drivers under the age of 21. In the vast majority of cases, law enforcement will determine whether a driver is under the influence by administering a simple breathalyzer test, although there are other tests that can be used as well, such as field sobriety tests and blood tests.
If a person is convicted of a DWI in New Jersey, he or she could face a wide range of consequences, including fines, jail time, loss of driving privileges, community service, and participation in a mandatory alcohol and safety education program. The penalties become harsher with each subsequent offense. In other words, someone facing their second DWI charge will be subject to more severe penalties than a first-time offender.
DWI charges should never be taken lightly. If you or someone close to you has been charged with a first-offense DWI (even second, third, or more), it is critical to recognize that this is an extremely serious charge. In this situation, you need the help of a seasoned New Jersey DWI attorney who can handle your case. With years of experience, we know how to protect your rights, and we understand the science and methodology behind the tests used to form the basis of DWI charges. You can trust that we will work diligently to get a satisfactory result in your case. To learn more, feel free to call us at 877-450-8301 or reach out to us online.
More Blog Posts:
Motions You Can Use to Fight a DWI Charge in New Jersey