For truck drivers who rely on their New Jersey commercial driver’s license (CDL) to earn a living, a DWI conviction can have devastating and far-reaching consequences. If you possess a CDL and have been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), it is vital that you speak to a seasoned New Jersey DWI attorney immediately. There is too much at stake for you to try to resolve this matter on your own and a legal advocate can aggressively fight for your rights.
Dump Truck Driver Charged with DWI
A Bergen County employee from Emerson was recently charged with a DWI for driving a Bergen County-owned dump truck while intoxicated and colliding into 10 vehicles. The driver was trying to get the dump truck out of a garage when the vehicle became stuck in the low garage exit as he tried to turn on the street. The truck ended up ripping through the ceiling causing heavy damage to the roof and hitting multiple vehicles that were parked inside the garage. According to law enforcement, the driver fled the scene of the accident. In addition to a DWI, the driver was charged with possession of controlled dangerous substances and leaving the scene of an accident.
Commercial DWI in New Jersey
Dump trucks are a common sight on New Jersey roads as they are routinely used in construction projects. These drivers, as well as other commercial drivers are subject to strict rules when it comes to drinking and driving. In fact, the rules for truckers, which are set by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, are even stricter than they are for regular drivers. In New Jersey, a person can be charged with a DWI if he or she gets behind the wheel with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. For commercial drivers, the legal limit is 0.04 percent.
A truck driver convicted of driving under the influence will lose his or her commercial license for at least one year on a first offense. This can not only ruin the trucker’s livelihood for the year but can permanently affect one’s trucking career. If a driver if convicted of a subsequent DWI offense, that driver will permanently lose his or her commercial driver’s license.
Commercial DWI Defenses
There are a number of ways to challenge a DWI charge. For example, the police officer may not have had reasonable suspicion to pull you over initially or the field sobriety test may not be reliable. Alternatively, the Breathalyzer machine used to test the driver’s breath may not have been calibrated and maintained properly. We will examine your case and use any and all defenses that may be applicable in your case.
Seasoned New Jersey Commercial DWI Defense Attorney
If you have been charged with a CDL DWI, you need to reach out to a seasoned New Jersey DWI attorney. A conviction can lead to severe penalties but do not lose hope because we are here to vigorously defend your rights every step of the way. Our team will do everything possible to fight the charges against you so you can move on with your life. For more information about your legal rights and options, call us today at 877-450.8301 or contact us online.
More Blog Posts: