Not all DWIs are created equal. While all potential DWI charges can adversely affect one’s life, the consequences can be even more severe if the percentage of alcohol in your blood exceeds 0.10 percent. If you or someone close to you has been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, you need to reach out to a skilled New Jersey DWI attorney. With years of experience, we can provide you with the legal assistance you need throughout the entire process.
Last month, a New Jersey woman was arrested and charged with an aggravated DWI after a two-car crash in Lake George. According to the Warren County Sherriff’s Office, a deputy responded to an accident involving two vehicles. Upon arrival, the deputy noticed that one of the drivers exhibited signs of inebriation. S.G., age 56, then failed field sobriety tests. She was then given a breath test which showed that her BAC was .24 percent, which is more than double the legal limit.
Under New Jersey law, if a person is found to be driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC of 0.08 percent or above, they are considered to be driving while intoxicated (DWI). The zero tolerance BAC limit for drivers younger than 21 is 0.01 percent. In most cases, there is an additional category of DWI that carries more severe penalties. If a driver is found to have a BAC of 0.10 percent of higher, it is considered an aggravated DWI, though it is not officially referred to as that.
A DWI conviction with a BAC of 0.10 percent or higher comes with higher fines and a longer license suspension for first time offenders. In fact, if your BAC was 0.10 percent or higher, two of the penalties increase:
- The monetary fine increases to $300 to $500; and
- You may lose your driver’s license to suspension for between seven and 12 months.
If your BAC was 0.15 percent or higher, the judge can also order that an ignition interlock device be installed on your vehicle for up to three years once your driver’s license is restored.
It is important to note that New Jersey law also prohibits you from driving under the influence of drugs, regardless of whether they are legal or illegal. In short, if the drug impairs your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely, it can form the basis of a DWI. A violation of this rule is treated the same as driving with a BAC of 0.10 percent or higher.
If you have been arrested for a DWI, we can help. The penalties associated with a DWI involving a BAC of 0.10 percent or higher can be severe and retaining an experienced New Jersey DWI attorney to defend you is critical. We will investigate all possible legal defenses in your case and create a legal strategy accordingly. You can rest assured that our team is committed to getting you the best possible outcome in your case. For a free, confidential consultation, please call us 877-450.8301 or contact us online.
More Blog Posts:
Study Finds More Fatal Crashes Linked to Drugged Driving than Drunk Driving