If you have been accused of leaving the scene of an accident in order to evade blood alcohol testing or for any other reason, you can be charged with the criminal offense of leaving the scene of an accident involving injuries. If you have been charged with such an offense, you need to consult a skilled New Jersey traffic violation attorney who can help. With years of experience, we understand how to navigate these cases while protecting your rights at every step of the way.
According to statistics released by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, roughly 30 percent of all deadly car crashes are directly caused by alcohol-impaired drivers, and more than 10 percent of accidents reported by law enforcement officials are hit and runs. Unfortunately, these accidents are also common in New Jersey.
Recently, a 34-year-old New Jersey man who was drunk when he struck and killed a Rutgers-Newark graduate in a hit and run accident last year has been sentenced to eight years in prison. The defendant will not be eligible for parole until he has served at least 85 percent of the sentence. He was driving on the wrong side of the road and excessively speeding. He pleaded guilty to second-degree vehicle manslaughter and drunk driving in the collision that killed the 23-year-old victim, who was thrown into a parked car upon impact. Unfortunately, the victim was pronounced dead at the scene.
Driving a motor vehicle that is involved in an accident and then fleeing the scene, otherwise known as a hit and run accident, is an extremely serious matter in the state of New Jersey. If alcohol is involved in the hit and run, the matter becomes even more serious. This instantly changes a DWI case to a serious felony charge. In other words, rather than simply receiving a DWI charge, other charges can also be levied against the fleeing driver, including reckless driving, failing to stop or render aid, aggravated assault by auto, and even vehicular manslaughter.
In New Jersey, the basic offense of a DWI consists of driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. In order to prosecute you for an injury accident caused by driving drunk, the state bears the burden of proving that not only were you drunk, but also your actions were the proximate cause of the accident. The state must prove these things beyond a reasonable doubt, the highest standard in the legal system.
If you have been in an accident while under the influence of alcohol or have been accused of a hit and run involving a DWI, you need to reach out to a seasoned New Jersey DWI attorney as soon as possible. Whether it is your first DWI or whether it is a second or subsequent offense, a skilled lawyer on your side can help you understand your legal rights and options at every step of the way. We are committed to making sure your case is presented fairly. To speak to one of our attorneys about your case in more detail, call us at 877-450-8301 or reach out to us online.
More Blog Posts: