If you have been arrested or charged with a DWI, it is important to reach out to a skilled New Jersey DWI defense attorney who can help. The penalties for a New Jersey DWI can vary depending on the specific circumstances of your case. It is generally some combination of license suspension, monetary fines, mandatory interlock ignition installation in your vehicle, and even jail time. The stakes are high, which is why is imperative to act quickly.
Drunk driving is a serious problem across the United States. According to the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), 28 people in the United States die every day in motor vehicle crashes that involve an alcohol-impaired driver. This amounts to one death every 53 minutes.
But there is some good news: New Jersey has one of America’s lowest rates of drunk driving incidents. BackgroundChecks.org compiled data from the CDC, the Department of Transportation, and Mother’s Against Drunk Driving to form a list of the best and worst states for drunk driving. On that list, New Jersey ranks 4th . New York tops the list, followed by Massachusetts and Illinois. These states boast the lowest drunk driving rates in the nation. According to the report, 111 people died as a result of drunk driving in the state of New Jersey in 2016, a 31.3 percent decrease from the preceding year.
Under New Jersey law, DWI consists of driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent of higher. For commercial drivers, the BAC level must not exceed 0.05 percent and for drivers under the age of 21, the BAC cannot be 0.01 percent or higher. It is important to note that New Jersey also has a law prohibiting driving under the influence of drugs and driving while possessing drugs. Essentially, one should not get behind the wheel if they are under the influence of any substance that may impair their ability to safely operate a motor vehicle.
New Jersey has implied consent, which means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test, you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension. This only applies to breath testing in New Jersey. There is no state law that requires an individual to submit to blood or urine testing. As mentioned earlier, the consequences for refusing a breath test can be harsh. You can lose your driver’s license for seven to twelve months on a first offense. That suspension will remain in place even if the driver is ultimately found not guilty of a DWI.
If you have been charged with a DWI, you should not delay in reaching out to a reputable New Jersey DWI attorney. You can trust that we will make every effort to protect your rights every step of the way. With years of experience, we are devoted to building the strongest DWI defense possible in your case. We are here to answer your questions and address your concerns. You may contact us online or call us at 877-450.8301.
More Blog Posts:
The Burden of Proof in a New Jersey DWI Case