New Jersey School Bus Driver Arrested for DWI after Accident Injures Multiple Students

School bus drivers must be extremely careful behind the wheel as they are responsible for transporting children to and from school safely. If you are a school bus driver who has been charged or arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI), we can help. Our New Jersey DWI attorneys will scrutinize the details of your arrest and build an aggressive defense on your behalf.

A New Jersey school bus driver was recently charged with a DWI after an accident that injured eight students. The wreck took place in the morning while 28 students were on the bus. According to law enforcement, the bus driver was under the influence of prescription medication when she struck another bus from behind at a New Jersey school while she was dropping the children off. Put another way, the bus driver failed to stop in time and ended up hitting the back of the empty bus parked ahead of her. The driver was charged with DWI, DWI in a School Zone, DWI through a school crossing as well as DWI with a minor in the vehicle.

New Jersey has strict DWI laws. A person who is 21 year of age is considered to be driving while intoxicated if his or her blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher. Commercial drivers, including bus drivers, are considered to be legally intoxicated if they are operating their vehicle with a BAC of 0.04 percent. These commercial DWI laws are in place to discourage people from drinking even small amounts of alcohol before getting behind the wheel in an effort to reduce accidents on the road.

It is important to note that in New Jersey, the “operation” of a motor vehicle does not require that the vehicle is actually moving. Rather, the prosecutor simply has to establish that the driver intended to put the vehicle in motion and it was possible for the vehicle to be moved. As such, you can even be charged with a commercial DWI if you were parked.

It is important to note that just because you have been charged with a DWI does not necessarily mean you are guilty. The law presumes you are innocent unless sufficient evidence is provided to establish that you are guilty ‘beyond a reasonable doubt’ – the highest evidentiary standard in the legal system. You can rest assured that we will meticulously examine your case and do our best to poke holes in the prosecution’s evidence to the extent possible.

If you have been charged with a DWI in a school zone, you need to reach out to a skilled New Jersey DWI attorney who understands this area of law. A commercial DWI charge should never be taken lightly as it has the potential to ruin your career. At our firm, we truly understand how high the stakes are, which is why we will zealously advocate for you every step of the legal process. For more information about your legal rights and options, please do not hesitate to call us at 877-450-8301 or contact us online.