A DWI arrest can be scary and extremely high-stakes, as a conviction can adversely impact almost every aspect of your life. If you have been charged with a DWI, you should know that you have rights. Our trusted New Jersey DWI attorneys work hard to deliver the highest quality counsel representation in DWI cases. You can rest assured that we understand what is at stake, which is why we will build the strongest possible defense in your case.
A proposed state law would expand the DWI ignition interlock program in New Jersey. Currently, you only have to have an ignition interlock device is you have a BAC of .15 or higher or if you are a repeat offender. Under the new law, anyone convicted of a DWI would be required to have the device installed in his or her vehicle for three to 18 months, depending on how drunk the driver was. The device works like a Breathalyzer, if your BAC is too high, your car will not start.
In addition, license suspensions that now range from three months to a year, depending on the driver’s BAC, would be significantly shorter ranging from 30 to 90 days. The idea is that ignition interlocks are a more effective way of reducing drunk driving accidents than a license suspension. Individuals with a suspended license can still drive under the influence but individuals with an ignition interlock device cannot.
New Jersey DWI
A person drives while intoxicated (DWI) in New Jersey if he or she operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. If convicted of drunk driving in New Jersey, you may face a range of negative consequences such as loss of license, hefty fines, increased insurance rates, mandatory ignition interlock, mandatory alcohol education classes and even jail time. As such, a DWI charge should never be taken lights.
You Can Fight a DWI Charge
Many people assume that if they have been charged with a DWI, they will be convicted. That is simply not the case. In fact, if you have been charged with a DWI, you should obtain the help of a DWI attorney immediately. We will investigate every aspect of your case to make sure that none of your rights were violated. There are a number of defenses that may be relevant to your case, including:
- Illegal stop and arrest;
- Incorrect administration of field sobriety tests;
- Improper administration of a Breathalyzer test;
- Faulty BAC results.
Contacting Seasoned New Jersey DWI Attorneys
A DWI conviction, whether it is a first offense or a subsequent offense, can have long-lasting consequences for your life. If you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, it is imperative to reach out to a skilled New Jersey DWI lawyer who can help. Our firm is committed to building a solid defense against your charges. No two cases are the same, which is why we will meticulously examine the facts of your case and provider legal representation tailored to your specific case. If you have questions regarding your defense, please call us 877-450.8301 or contact us online.
More Blog Posts: