Everyone makes mistakes, but if a police officer or a New Jersey prosecutor makes an error in your case, it should not hurt you and your future. If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), do not underestimate the importance of having a skilled legal advocate on your side. Our diligent New Jersey DWI attorneys will thoroughly review the facts and build the strongest possible defense in your case. We understand how high the stakes are, which is why we will zealously protect your rights at each stage of the legal process.
Approximately 1 in 5 adults in the country have experienced some type of harm due to another person’s conduct while drinking, according to research recently published in the Journal of Studies on Alcohol and Drugs. The study found that in 2015, about 53 million adults – or roughly 20 percent – indicated that they had gone through at least one harm, which could be attributed to someone else’s drinking in the prior twelve months. That harm varied from property damage to bodily injury. This risk is especially significant for driving-related incidents. In fact, heavy drinkers were 12 times more likely to have been involved in a crash or in a vehicle with a drunk driver than the rest of the population.
Driving under the influence of alcohol is against the law in New Jersey. When you are arrested for a DWI, the police will administer a breath test, which will determine your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). A driver who is 21 years of age or above will be charged with a DWI if his or her BAC is 0.08 percent or higher. If a driver is under the age of 21, however, that individual will be charged with a DWI if his or her BAC is 0.01 percent or higher. The legal limit for commercial drivers is a BAC of 0.04 percent or higher.
When you have been arrested for a DWI, it can be easy to feel hopeless about your situation. But rest assured that there may be a number of viable defenses available in your case. We will break down every piece of evidence against you to identify any mistakes that were made by the arresting officer during your arrest or any errors made after your arrest. For example, we will look into why you were pulled over in the first place and whether the officer had probable cause to initiate a traffic stop. We will examine if the officer conducted the field sobriety test according to proper protocol. We will scrutinize the results of the breath test to make sure the Alcotest device was calibrated and working properly. We will also analyze if the officer used the device properly. These are just a few examples of defense tactics that we may employ in your case.
DWI convictions can have long-term adverse consequences for your career, housing opportunities and your future. If you have been charged with a DWI, whether it is a first, second or third offense, you need to reach out to a seasoned New Jersey DWI attorney immediately. A strong legal defense can convince the courts to have your drunk driving charges reduced or the case dismissed altogether. We are here to answer your questions and address your concerns. For more information about your case, please call us at 877-450-8301 or contact us online today.