For most people, driving is a primary mode of transportation and a necessity to carry out day-to-day tasks. When you have been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), you may face a wide range of penalties, including losing your license. If you have been arrested for a DWI, it is imperative to reach out to an experienced New Jersey DWI attorney who will stand by your side at every step of the way. With years of experience, we understand how to build a strong defense for our clients.
Earlier this month, a woman was pulled over on Route 46 with a New Jersey Transit sign sticking through the roof of her vehicle. New Jersey police say the woman was drunk, and they stopped her when they noticed the sign protruding from the top of her car. According to law enforcement, the woman did not even know the sign was there. It is still unclear how the sign got there.
In the majority of New Jersey DWI cases, police pull over the driver of a vehicle for a traffic violation. Once the vehicle is stopped, police approach the vehicle and ask the driver for his or her driver’s license, as well as other information. At that point, the police officer is checking the driver’s eyes, breath, movements, speech, and general demeanor for any signs of intoxication. If the officer thinks you may be under the influence of alcohol or drugs, he or she may detain you for sobriety testing. If the officers believe there is probable cause to arrest the driver for a DWI, the driver will be put in handcuffs and taken to the police station. In the case at hand, the 52-year-old woman was arrested and charged with a DWI and careless driving after she failed two sobriety tests and a Breathalyzer reading.
Under New Jersey law, the basic offense of a DWI consists of driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. If you are under the age of 21, the state only needs to show that your BAC was above 0.01 percent in order to convict you of an “underage DWI.” A DWI conviction can have a wide range of consequences, including a license suspension, monetary fines, and even jail time. The penalties for a DWI become more severe with each subsequent offense. For example, the penalties for a second DUI will be much more serious than penalties for a first-time offense.
A DWI conviction can have far-reaching consequences for your freedom, license, and employment. If you have been arrested for a DWI, you need reliable and aggressive representation. Our seasoned New Jersey DUI attorneys can examine the facts of your case and explore every possible defense in your situation. You can trust that we can vigorously advocate for your rights at every step of the way. We don’t just represent our clients; we fight for them. To talk to us in more detail about the circumstances surrounding your arrest, call us at 877-450-8301 or contact us online.
More Blog Posts:
Police Evidence in a New Jersey DWI
Over 20,000 New Jersey DWI Convictions May Have been Based on Faulty Alcotests