Drunk driving charges can impact virtually every aspect of your existence. If you’ve been arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI), you need to call a New Jersey DWI attorney immediately. While an arrest for DWI can seriously interfere with your life, a DWI conviction can be even worse. You may lose your driver’s license, be required to pay substantial fines and you can even face jail time. Because the stakes are so high, DWI charges should never be taken lightly. With extensive understanding of the state’s drunk driving laws, you can take comfort in knowing that we will provide an aggressive defense in your case.
A 34-year-old New Jersey teacher was charged with a DWI after crashing her car into a pizza shop in Camden County last month. Footage of the incident shows the woman barreling her car into the front of the store. The accident destroyed much of the store and left three employees inside the restaurant with minor injuries, according to the prosecutor’s office. The driver was taken to the hospital by authorities where she consented to a blood draw. Her blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was determined to be .195, more than twice the legal limit. The pizza restaurant is now closed until further notice.
As in other states, a person in the state of New Jersey can be charged with a DWI if he or she exceeds the legal intoxication limit. Under state law, a driver who is found to be operating a motor vehicle with a BAC 0.08 percent of higher can be held liable for a DWI. You should be aware, however, that a DWI charge is not limited to alcohol consumption. Any substance that reduces a driver’s reaction time or hinders a person’s ability to drive safely can lead to a DWI as well. This includes mind-altering substances such as marijuana, and other illegal drugs, as well as over the counter or even prescription drugs.
New Jersey has some of the most strict DWI laws in the nation. While DWI penalties are generally serious, these penalties are enhanced if certain aggravated factors exist. One of these aggravating factors is property damage or injury. This means that a conviction in a DWI accident case involving property damage can result in sentencing enhancement. Under the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice, it is mandatory for the judge to consider aggravating factors. In the aforementioned case, for example, where the allegedly drunk woman crashed into a pizza restaurant and caused extensive property damage, the prosecutor could ask for enhanced penalties such as increased jail time, higher fines and fees, and a longer loss of driving privileges.
If you have been arrested for a DWI, we can help. Whether it is your first offense or a subsequent one, our experienced and hard-working New Jersey drunk driving defense attorneys will work hard to fight the charges against you. With extensive experience in this area of law, we will do whatever it takes to help you avoid the most severe penalties. You can rest assured that we will be available to answer your questions and guide you through the legal process. For more information about your rights and options, please feel free to call us at 877-450-8301 to discuss your case with a member of our team. Alternatively, you can contact us online.