Driving under the influence is a huge problem in New Jersey and throughout the country. However, police can sometimes be overzealous in charging individuals who may not be guilty. If you’ve been arrested for impaired driving, getting legal advice is vital. Our New Jersey driving while intoxicated (DWI) legal advocates have the experience and expertise to help ease your mind and protect your future. We are dedicated to delivering a solid defense on your behalf so that you can put this incident behind you and move on with your life.
According to a new study published in Trauma Surgery & Acute Care Open, almost 40 percent of individuals who were tested for alcohol after e-scooter mishaps had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over the lawful driving limit. Specifically, of the 103 patients treated at three different trauma clinics for e-scooter related injuries, 79 percent were tested for alcohol and 48 percent of those people had a BAC of over 0.08 percent. In addition, sixty percent of the 103 patients in the report were assessed for drugs, and 52 percent of those individuals tested positive.
Recognizing the dangers of alcohol use and e-scooters, New Jersey passed a bill earlier this year that regulated scooters like bicycles, which means people can ride them on streets, highways and bicycle paths. In addition, if you operate a scooter while intoxicated, you could face DWI charges.
Under New Jersey state law, an individual who is 21 years of age or older and holds a regular driver’s license commits the offense of driving while intoxicated if he or she operates a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher. While 0.08 percent BAC is the official legal threshold, the truth is that you can be charged with a DWI even if your BAC is lower than this amount if your ability to drive in a safe manner was affected.
Generally speaking, a “motor vehicle” refers to a vehicle that uses anything other than muscular power to propel itself such as cars, trucks, buses, and tractors. Motorized bikes and wheelchairs, however, are not considered “motor vehicles” under the definition. Electric scooters, on the other hand, are. Put another way, an individual operating an e-scooter under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol can be arrested for a DWI. You should note that the penalties for operating an e-scooter while intoxicated are the same as operating any other motor vehicle under the influence.
Drunk driving cases are extremely complex. If you have been charged with drunk driving, it is vital to reach out to an experienced and hard-working New Jersey DWI attorney without delay. Even if it is your first offense, you can be convicted and burdened with a criminal record. Our firm understands the seriousness and gravity of these charges, which is why we will fight for your rights by building the strongest possible defense in your case. Call us today for a free case evaluation and to learn how we can protect your rights. Our phone number is 877-450-8301 or you can also reach out online via our website.