Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious offense that can have negative effects on virtually every aspect of your life. If you have been arrested or charged with a DWI, our New Jersey DWI attorneys have the experience and skills to represent you. We will thoroughly review your situation and use our knowledge to challenge the charges against you. Our goal is to help you avoid the most serious penalties and expenses that accompany a DWI.
In New Jersey, you can be arrested and charged for driving while intoxicated if you are found operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. When it comes to alcohol, if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 percent or above, then you can be on the hook for a DWI. You can even be charged and convicted of a DWI if your BAC is less than 0.08 percent but your ability to drive safely is compromised.
Individuals caught drunk driving will face different penalties to what they did before. Governor Phil Murphy signed a bill into law in August, 2019 that cracks down on drunk driving in New Jersey while also allowing more offenders to hold on to their licenses. The new law reduces the amount of time an individual caught driving under the influence in in the state will lose their license. In exchange for driving privileges, however, the offender will be required to an install ignition interlock device (IID). The IID is a device, which an offender must pay to have installed, that identifies alcohol from a driver’s breath sample. If alcohol is discovered, the vehicle will not start. The measure is designed to curb repeat offenses while still permitting people to continue working and earn a living.
New Jersey is the 34th state in the nation to mandate IIDs for all drunk driving offenders, including those convicted for the first time. Previously, New Jersey law only imposed IIDs for repeat offenders or individuals who had a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher. Now, an IID will have to be used for six months after a license suspension of 30 days (formerly three months) for first time offenders with a BAC of 0.08 to 0.10 percent. For offenders with a BAC of 0.10 percent to 0.15 percent, the IID will have to be used for six months to one year after a license suspension of 45 days (formerly seven months to a year). For offenders who have a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher, the IID must be used for one year to 18 months following the license suspension of 90 days.
If you have been charged with a DWI, there is still time to fight the charges against you. DWI penalties are severe so it is vital to act quickly. Our highly skilled New Jersey DWI attorneys understand how to protect your rights in even the most complex DWI cases. We cannot stress enough that the most important investment you can make after being charged is to speak with a reliable and knowledgeable DWI attorney. We are here to answer your questions and prepare you for all the possible outcomes in your case. For more information, call us at 877-450-8301 or reach out to us online.