If you were charged with drinking and driving, you may assume that you are automatically guilty; however, this simply not the case. You have rights and our reputable New Jersey DWI lawyers can help protect those rights. You can take comfort in the fact that are dedicated to providing aggressive and experienced representation through every stage of the legal process.
T.S., 26, was killed in an auto accident in 2014 in Belmar. She was a passenger in her Honda Civic, which was driven by her boyfriend, E.M., in the early hours of Easter morning. E.M. ran a red light and hit another car causing the Civil to flip over and land in the parking lot at Belmar Marina. T.S., who was not wearing a seatbelt, was ejected from the vehicle and landed in the Shark River. An autopsy later revealed that her cause of death was drowning and blunt force trauma to her head. E.M.’s BAC was .207 at the time of the wreck according to law enforcement and he was later sentenced to prison for 10 years.
T.S.’s family sued the restaurant alleging that the establishment continued to serve E.M. despite the fact that he was visibility inebriated, offering evidence eyewitnesses accounts of E.M.’s conduct, security video from the bar, and his BAC level. The bar owners have now settled the lawsuit with the family for $1.5 million.
Driving While Intoxicated in New Jersey
If you have been charged with a DWI, you should know that there may be a variety of defenses that may be applicable in your case. We can help you explore each and every defense that may relevant. A person commits the offense of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in New Jersey when he or she operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. In addition, a person may be charged with a DWI if he or she is driving under the influence of drugs – whether they are prescription, over the counter or illegal. Essentially, any substance that impairs a person’s ability to drive safely can lead to a DWI charge.
Dram Shop Liability in New Jersey
Dram shop laws in New Jersey allow claims to be filed against a business that served or sold alcohol to a person who later caused an accident due to the alcohol. In essence, the state intends to hold restaurant and bar owners accountable for the sale of alcohol as the effects can be catastrophic when an intoxicated person gets behind the wheel and causes an accident. This is what happened in the aforementioned case in which the bar owners were liable for the wreck that Martinez caused.
Skilled New Jersey Drunk Driving Attorneys
DWI charges, whether it is a first DWI or a subsequent one, should never be taken lightly. Aside from the possibility of a criminal record, you may face the prospect of losing your driver’s license and insurance. If you have been charged with a DWI, you need to reach out to a seasoned New Jersey DWI attorney without delay. These charges are complex and having an experienced attorney on your side can make all the difference in your case. We have defended countless New Jersey clients and can help you as well. For more information about your case, call us at 877-450.8301 or contact us online
More Blog Posts:
School Bus Driver Arrested for Drunk Driving in New Jersey