School Bus Driver Arrested for Drunk Driving in New Jersey

If you are a school bus driver and you have been charged with drunk driving, you should consider immediately reaching out to a New Jersey DWI attorney. This charge should never be taken lightly as it can turn your whole life upside down and leave your financial future in a state of uncertainty, as commercial drivers face much more serious consequences than private drivers for DWI offenses. Just because you have been charged does not mean you are guilty – you can rest assured that we will examine every detail of your case and build the strongest possible defense on your behalf.

 A New Jersey school bus driver was placed under arrest after law enforcement officials claimed he hit a few different cars while driving under the influence of alcohol. Specifically, the bus driver purportedly hit five vehicles with occupants inside, a minimum of two traffic poles and one fire hydrant early in the morning in an incident last month. Reportedly, one person sustained minor injuries because of the wreck. At the time of the accident, there was only a 9-year-old child and a female bus aide on the bus. The driver was charged with driving under the influence, driving while suspended and reckless driving.

Distinguishing Private from Commercial DWIs

In New Jersey, a person who is 21 years of age or older and holds a normal driver’s license is guilty of driving while intoxicated (DWI) if he or she operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. While the law defines a 0.08 percent BAC as the legal threshold, the reality is that you can be convicted of the offense even if your BAC is lower than 0.08 percent. It is important to note that, under New Jersey law, the rules differ for commercial drivers, including bus drivers. Bus drivers are prohibited from operating a bus with a BAC of 0.04 percent or higher. Commercial drivers face much harsher penalties for drunk driving offenses than private drivers.

Defending Against a Commercial DWI Charge

Just because you were charged with a commercial DWI does not automatically mean that you are guilty. Oftentimes, individuals are accused of drunk driving with very little evidence or evidence that is simply not credible. Law enforcement may have used certain tests in your case the results are not always accurate. We will examine the circumstances of your arrest and, if we can, challenge the reliability of the stop and any tests that were performed.

Reputable New Jersey DWI Defense Attorneys

If you have been charged with a commercial DWI, whether it is a first offense or a subsequent one, you need our help. Because the personal and professional stakes are so high in these cases, it is imperative to consult a skilled New Jersey DWI attorney who understands this area of law. With extensive experience, we understand how to defend your rights in an efficient and effective manner. We are here to answer your questions as well as talk to you about any concerns you may have throughout the entire legal process. For more information, do not delay in calling us 877-450.8301 or contact us online

More Blog Posts:

Proposed NJ Law would Mandate Ignition Interlock for All Drunk Drivers

Drunk New Jersey Woman Crashes into Carwash


Contact Information