Articles Posted in DWI in a School Zone

School bus drivers must be extremely careful behind the wheel as they are responsible for transporting children to and from school safely. If you are a school bus driver who has been charged or arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI), we can help. Our New Jersey DWI attorneys will scrutinize the details of your arrest and build an aggressive defense on your behalf.

A New Jersey school bus driver was recently charged with a DWI after an accident that injured eight students. The wreck took place in the morning while 28 students were on the bus. According to law enforcement, the bus driver was under the influence of prescription medication when she struck another bus from behind at a New Jersey school while she was dropping the children off. Put another way, the bus driver failed to stop in time and ended up hitting the back of the empty bus parked ahead of her. The driver was charged with DWI, DWI in a School Zone, DWI through a school crossing as well as DWI with a minor in the vehicle.

New Jersey has strict DWI laws. A person who is 21 year of age is considered to be driving while intoxicated if his or her blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher. Commercial drivers, including bus drivers, are considered to be legally intoxicated if they are operating their vehicle with a BAC of 0.04 percent. These commercial DWI laws are in place to discourage people from drinking even small amounts of alcohol before getting behind the wheel in an effort to reduce accidents on the road.

Continue reading

New Jersey drunk driving laws are among the strictest in the country. If you have been arrested or charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), our skilled New Jersey DWI attorneys have the requisite experience to defend you and seek the best possible results in your case. With extensive knowledge about this area of law, we are committed to providing reliable and honest legal advice every step of the way.

A 66-year-old man was recently charged with a DWI as well as second and third-degree Assault by Auto in Hoboken. The charges were brought after the man tried to flee the scene of a fender bender and drove onto the sidewalk, striking a pedestrian. According to law enforcement, the initial accident took place around three in the afternoon after which the driver attempted to leave the scene, hitting a pedestrian before hitting a building. The pedestrian was a 56-year-old man from Brooklyn who had been standing by a stop sign; he was seriously injured as a result of the crash. The investigation is currently ongoing.

In New Jersey, a person can be charged with a DWI when he or she operates a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The legal limit for alcohol-related intoxication in New Jersey is 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Even if you were not officially over the legal limit, prosecutors can use performance on field sobriety tests or other officer observations to show that your ability to drive was compromised.

Continue reading

If you have been cited for a DWI in a school zone, you need to reach out to a seasoned New Jersey DWI attorney without delay.

An alleged drunk driver was involved in two accidents in a school zone last week, according to the Mendham Borough police. The 50-year-old woman from Bernardsville was charged with drunk driving and driving in a school zone and ticketed with reckless driving, failure to keep right, leaving the scene of an accident, and failure to report an accident after the crash. Police were notified when multiple residents from the area called to report the incidents.The first crash entailed the intoxicated woman hitting a parked Dodge Ram pickup truck, which was pushed into another truck. Witnesses to the incident told cops that the woman got out of her vehicle about 50 feet away and then got back into the car and drove off. A short while later, she crashed into a Mercedes Benz. Even at this point, she did not stop. She kept driving and was ultimately pulled over by the police.

Continue reading

We’re fast approaching the first day of summer, when kids all over New Jersey will be running toward the exits of many primary and secondary schools. With warm weather finally here and families making vacation plans for the Jersey Shore and other summer fun spots, it is important to remember that school is still in session. And regardless of whether kids are in school or not, local and state police are still keen on pulling motorists over when they are observed making even the most basic of driving errors in a school zone.

Many drivers are likely aware that increased penalties exists for those drivers convicted of intoxicated operation of a motor vehicle while within 1,000 feet of school property, but what most people may not realize is that it makes no difference whether school is in session or if children are present or not, the enhanced monetary fines and other penalties for DWI in a school zone are always in effect.

As Garden State drunken driving defense lawyers, my firm’s legal team understands New Jersey DWI-DUI law. Potential clients visiting our offices can include those individuals who have been arrested for or charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, doctor-prescribed medication, or an illegal controlled dangerous substance (CDS). Whichever is the case, if convicted, a driver will be looking at some rather unpleasant penalties.
Continue reading