If you or someone close to you has been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, we can help. With years of experience, our seasoned New Jersey DWI attorneys understand how to protect your rights during every phase of your drunk driving case. We understand the serious negative impact a drunk driving conviction can have on your future, which is why we will zealously protect your rights at every step of the way.
In New Jersey, driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher can form the basis of a driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge. The limit is lower for underage drivers (i.e., people under the age of 21) and commercial drivers. It is important to note that a person can be charged with a DWI if his or her ability to drive has been impaired by any type of drug (legal or illegal) as well.
Last month, a Union City driver was charged with a DWI after he smashed into 36 parked cars, causing thousands of dollars in damage. The Hoboken Police Department responded to the scene after receiving several calls about a driver in a white 2010 Honda heading north on Bloomfield Street.
When police arrived on the scene, they found the 22-year-old driver disoriented on the street where the incident occurred. Cops say that the driver could not balance while standing in the street and smelt of alcohol. In addition, his car was heavily damaged, with all of its air bags deployed and the passenger side windshield being broken.
The driver had two passengers in his car when the cops arrived. All three of them were taken to the hospital for evaluation. Since the driver was not able to complete a sobriety test at the crash scene, he provided blood and urine samples at the hospital prior to being treated and released. In addition to a DWI, he was charged with DWI in a school zone, reckless driving, leaving the scene of an accident, failure to exhibit documents (insurance), and driving an unregistered vehicle, as well as two counts of assault by auto.
If you are arrested for a New Jersey DWI, you may be facing a number of penalties, including fines, jail time, a suspension of your license, and community service. If your BAC is 0.10 percent or more, you may face steeper penalties in the state. If your BAC is 0.15 percent or greater, the consequences can be even more severe, and you may be forced to install an ignition interlock device in your car for the duration of your license suspension and up to a year following license restoration.
If you have been arrested or charged with a DWI, you need to reach out to a skilled New Jersey DWI attorney who understands this area of law. In many cases, a DWI charge is accompanied by other charges, such as assault by auto or reckless driving. With extensive experience, we can examine the charges against you and prepare a vigorous defense accordingly. For more information about your case, call our legal team at 877-450-8301 or contact us online.
More Blog Posts:
Photo Credit: Paul Biryukov / Shutterstock.com