If you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, it is imperative to consult a reputable New Jersey DWI attorney who practices this area of law. At our firm, we will examine the circumstances surrounding your arrest and figure out the DWI defense tactics that may work in your situation.
Electric motor scooters are fun to ride but they can be dangerous if they are operated in an irresponsible manner. A 28-year-old man in Los Angeles was recently convicted for driving under the influence while operating a Bird electric scooter. It is the very first motorized scooter drunk driving instance that the city has prosecuted. The man was determined to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .279, in excess of three times the limit allowed by law at the time of the accident in which he hit a 64-year-old pedestrian on the sidewalk. Once the accident took place, the man on the scooter did not stop and help the injured man who fell on the sidewalk and sustained a minor injury.
Drunk Driving in New Jersey
In New Jersey, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. A person can be charged with a DWI if they drive a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher. Furthermore, any drug that interferes with a person’s ability to drive in a safe manner can also give rise to a DWI charge.
However, what does “motor vehicle” actually mean in New Jersey? Broadly speaking, a motor vehicle includes any vehicle that uses anything other than muscular power to propel itself. Some common examples include cars, trucks, buses, and tractors. While motorized bicycles and motorized wheelchairs are excluded from this definition, electric scooters are not. In other words, a person operating an electric scooter while drunk can be charged with a DWI. It is important to note that the penalties for operating a motorized scooter under the influence are the same as operating any other motor vehicle under the influence.
Defending Against a DWI Charge
Just because you have been charged with a DWI does not mean you are automatically guilty. There may be a number of defenses that could be applicable in your case. Police officers are required to follow a standard of procedures when bringing in DWI suspects. If any protocols were not followed properly, or if evidence was not collected in compliance with the law, the charges may be reduced or the case may be dismissed altogether.
Trusted New Jersey DWI Defense Lawyer
If you or someone close to you has been charged with a DWI, you need to reach out to a seasoned New Jersey DWI attorney without delay. These cases are nuanced, complex and carry serious penalties, which is why having the right attorney on your side can make all the difference in your case. With extensive experience defending New Jersey clients in DWI cases, you can trust that we know how to handle your case. To speak with one of our attorneys, please call us at 877-450.8301 or contact us online
More Blog Posts:
More than 20,000 NJ DWI Convictions Could be Tossed Out
Bar Serving Alcohol Settles Case After Fatal New Jersey DWI Crash