Celebrities are no exception to the law. New Jersey native and rap star Fetty Wap, whose real name is Willie Maxwell, was arrested in New York last week on charges of drunk driving. Reportedly, at about 1 a.m., the rapper was caught drag racing with another vehicle at a high speed. The 26-year-old showed signs of intoxication and took a field sobriety test, which he failed. At this point, he was taken into custody. Upon his arrest, officers discovered that he had a suspended New Jersey driver’s license.
Under New Jersey law, driving while intoxicated (DWI) consists of driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. When it comes to commercial drivers, the BAC level must not be 0.04 percent or higher, and for drivers under the age of 21, the BAC cannot be 0.01 percent or higher. In most cases, an officer will determine whether a driver is under the influence by administering a simple breathalyzer test, although there are other measures that can be used as well, such as field sobriety tests and blood tests.
A New Jersey DWI is a serious offense and can result in a range of penalties, including fines, fees, license suspension, community service hours, and jail time. The number of prior offenses and whether people or property were harmed during the incident can affect the penalties a defendant will face.
An individual who is charged with a DWI on a suspended license faces serious consequences. In fact, it seriously complicates a DWI charge. There are a number of reasons an individual’s license may be suspended, ranging from a prior DWI conviction to failure to pay drunk driving charges to the MVC. New Jersey does not have any temporary, provisional, or “work” license, which lets the driver operate his or her vehicle in a limited capacity. As a result, a suspended license means the driver cannot lawfully drive at all, under any circumstances.
In New Jersey, driving with a suspended license stemming from a DWI charge in the state is a fourth-degree crime. Put another way, NJSA 2C:40-26 says that it is a fourth-degree crime to drive with a suspended license if your driver’s license was previously suspended for a DWI or a DWI-related charge (i.e., refusing to submit to a chemical test), and you were previously convicted of driving with a suspended license while it was suspended for one of the two above-mentioned charges.
Being charged with a DWI can negatively influence many aspects of your life, which is why this type of charge should never be taken lightly. If you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, it is important to reach out to a skilled New Jersey DWI attorney who can protect your rights. With years of experience, we understand how to navigate these types of claims. You can rest assured we understand how stressful this process is for you, which is why we will do everything in our power to resolve your matter in a timely manner. For more information, you may contact us online or call us at 877-450-8301.
More Blog Posts:
Breath Sample Size in New Jersey Different for Women Over Sixty