A driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge should never be taken lightly because it can have far-reaching consequences for almost every aspect of your life. If you or someone close to you has been charged with DWI in New Jersey, it is important to reach out to a skilled New Jersey drunk driving attorney who can assess the merits of your case.
In 1910, New York was the first state in the United States to adopt a law against drinking and driving. Other states soon followed, and today every state has a drunk driving law. While these laws have been on the books for over a century, the unfortunate reality is that drunk driving is still a serious problem throughout the country. In 2015, approximately 10,265 people died in alcohol-impaired driving crashes, accounting for one-third of all traffic-related deaths in the nation.
A recent study published in the American Journal of Epidemiology examined the role that ride-sharing apps like Uber play in stopping people from driving while drunk. The study essentially concluded that the impact of ride-sharing services on drunk driving could depend on a city’s characteristics, and how much they discourage people from driving. For example, in a denser urban center with lots of traffic and limited parking, an individual may be more likely to use a ride-sharing service to get around. In short, there are many factors that could affect drunk driving, and it is not clear-cut that the presence of ride-sharing services directly reduces drunk driving accidents.
Under Section 39:4-50, a New Jersey DWI consists of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. In other words, any substance, whether it be drugs or alcohol, that impairs a person’s ability to safety operate a motor vehicle could form the basis of a DWI. It is important to note that you could still be convicted of a DWI even if your BAC was below 0.08 percent. If the alcohol or substance substantially affects your ability to operate a motor vehicle, you could still be convicted based on your performance on the standardized field sobriety tests, your overall demeanor, and other factors.
When you get pulled over for a DWI, you have certain rights that must be respected by the police. For example, New Jersey law requires officers to measure your BAC “within a reasonable time” of when you were arrested for a DWI. We can examine the facts of your stop and arrest to ensure that none of your rights was violated.
A DWI conviction remains on your criminal record for a significant amount of time and can negatively affect your personal and professional reputation. If you have been charged with a DWI, you should reach out to a seasoned New Jersey DWI attorney as soon as possible. We can scrutinize the facts of your case and build a strong defense at every step of the way. For more information, do not hesitate to contact us online or call us at 877-450-8301.
More Blog Posts:
Breath Sample Size in New Jersey Different for Women Over Sixty